Cats vs Dogs, My Way

I’m much more of a cat person than a dog person. Don’t get me wrong, I like dogs, too. Our neighbors’ dog, Harley is awesome, as is my brother-in-law’s Maximus. In fact, my second biggest regret about not having the time or resources to visit California (right behind seeing my brother) is meeting said brother’s ultra cool boxer, Cash! It’s just that I have a stronger affinity for felines, and I came to the conclusion it’s because we share unappreciated identities.

I was the younger brother to two smart and popular brothers. This was not a big deal in elementary school but come junior high and high school, when you try to establish a personal identity with your immediate community of fellow students as well as the larger community of teachers and parents, I was not given much opportunity to be someone other than their little brother. Cats, in many ways, fall into the same lack of identity in the greater public conscience.

There are many breeds of cats; Siamese, Persian, Himalayan, Scottish Fold, Maine Coon, etc. But nobody seems to give a hoot about that. When you tell someone you have a cat, it’s like okay, a cat. But if you tell someone you have a dog, they’re like, “Oh, what kind of dog?” No such consideration for my feline friends – because a cat is just a cat in their universe.

Sure there are probably far more specific breeds of dogs than cats, with far greater variation; Bassett Hound, German Shepherd, Shih Tzu, Retriever, Poodle, Bull Dog, Saint Bernard, etc. Heck, there’s new hybrid breeds being created all the darn time – Labradoodles and Bullshits to name a few. But that doesn’t mean we need to disregard the variations of cats out there, does it.

I think I’ll get a dog to teach people a lesson. I won’t acknowledge the breed of dog I adopt. When they ask, “Oh, what kind of dog?” I’ll just say, “You know…four legs, a tail, sniffs your crotch and humps your leg. A dog!”

Leave a Reply

