So, How Old Do You Feel?

While putting away my shipment on Friday one of my much younger employees was nearby. I grunted as I moved a case from the pallet to the cart, saying, “I’m getting too old for this.” She said, “Aw, Jason. You’re only twenty-nine.” I know she knows I’m a good bit older than that, but it made me feel really good. I gave her a hug. Then, the good feeling went away, because I DON’T EVEN REMEMBER 29!

It’s not like I’m old – my 41st birthday is still over a month away – but sometimes I just get that old feeling. This especially happens on those three days a week I receive a truck at work; and as we approach busy season those trucks will only get bigger. It wears down my body. Much like my kids – chasing them around wears down my body; having my five-year-old unexpectedly jump on my back while I’m in a crouching position, attention focused on something else, wears me down; showing my eleven-year-old exercises I could rattle off when I was just twenty wears me down; heck, even the act of making kids wears me down. When the decision between sex and a nap is a difficult one, you’re feeling old.

There are three specific things that have made me feel old over the years. The first happened many years ago – long before I was even approaching forty. We were visiting the in-laws and watching a made-for-television movie about the early days of Apple and Microsoft. (I believe it was called Pirates of Silicon Valley.) It opens with a recreation of the making of Ridley Scott’s 1984 Apple Computer commercial. My youngest brother-in-law said something to the effect of seeing that commercial on the History Channel. History Channel??? I remember watching the Super Bowl they aired that commercial on! I used to work in advertising and I understand the historical significance of that commercial on the industry – but how could something from my youth be on the History Channel that soon? Oh, it was just a preview of things to come.

On our last visit to the in-laws that same little brother-in-law and his wife came over to watch Girl Meets World, the Disney Channel spin-off to ABC’s Boy Meets World from many years ago. The show focuses on the daughter of Corey and Topanga Matthews from the original series. I remember that series well, from my high school and college days. Now they have middle-school-aged kid? Where has the time gone?

Lastly, my eldest looked up Kate Upton on IMDB because she saw her in the preview to the new movie The Other Woman. I remember Kate Upton being the youngest ever model to grace the cover of Sports Illustrated’s Swimsuit edition, but that seems like it was a little while ago already. However, upon checking Upton’s birthday, I’m pretty sure it was mere days after my high school graduation ceremony. Yes, the modelling industry is for the young – but am I so old that the supermodels of today are that much younger than I? It appears so.

But, as the old saying goes, you’re only as old as you feel. Those same kids that wear me down keep me young. Chasing them around gets me some much-needed exercise (as does the aforementioned sex); the five-year-old using me as her own, personal jungle gym keeps me alert; and watching all of them experience the world around them and grow does more for my heart and soul than anything else on this earth. It’s like a warp in the space-time continuum; some days you feel old, and a few days later you feel young again. It’s one of the great blessings of life, the variety that keeps it interesting each and every day.

Leave a Reply

