Exercise Less

My wife and I recently purchased a treadmill. We both need to get in better cardiovascular shape and feel this may be the best way to do it. Walking in the neighborhood is out of the question because the kids will prevent us from reaching the necessary pace to increase our heart rates to an effective exercise level. So, in a nutshell, exercise it good.

Except for one kind…

The other day at work a property maintenance man was using a leaf blower to blow debris off the sidewalk. The high winds that morning simply blew most of it right back on. This is an exercise in futility.

The toddler had an almost 4-hour nap and woke up around 10pm, shortly before I got home. Trying to get her back to sleep at a reasonable time was an exercise in futility.

She finally did go to sleep by 1:15AM. I still had dishes to do. By the time I was done it was almost 2AM. My mind was wired and I had to get to work by 5AM for inventory. I tried to force myself to go to sleep. This was an exercise in futility.

Trying to get your social butterfly 6-year-old to NOT answer the telephone until Mom or Dad checks the caller ID to see if it’s someone we know is an exercise in futility.

If you’re a telemarketer trying to get an exuberant 6-year-old to pass the phone off to her mother or father for you sales pitch instead of hearing about the latest adventures of her imaginary friends is an exercise in futility.

So, don’t forget the importance of frequent physical exercise. Just try to avoid those exercises in futility.

1 Comment

Leave a comment