Writing Advice

My wife is an amazing woman. She’s a wonderful, loving mother who never ceases to impress me with her ability to maintain such a solid faith and positive demeanor raising and home-schooling our four daughters. In fact, because she’s home-schooling our four girls, the mother of my sole girl basketball player this year said my wife is a saint! Yes, our girls have their issues, but if she’s a saint it’s for putting up with me, not them. If this is your first reading of my blog, just peruse the archives and you’ll see what I mean.

My wife started blogging more than a year before me. She’s a devout Catholic and writes on the faith. Over the years she’s been reading and educating herself in the faith, and by enlisting my help in editing and formatting her blog she’s been teaching me more about the rich heritage of the Catholic faith as well. I will be forever grateful for her doing so.

Because she had such a knowledge of her faith she was able to write frequently in the early stages of blogging. If memory serves she was writing about once a week, and sometimes more. Now that our oldest is in high school, our third began kindergarten and the two-year-old is energetic, my wife’s time is at a greater premium than ever before. She still has a lot to teach me and her readers about the faith, but time is limited. There are moments when she gets a little frustrated when it may be three weeks or more between posts. Seeing that her goofy husband’s blog is already over 100 posts in less than half the time must also add to her frustration. Tonight, she said she should post some “quicker” blogs to keep the interest up. As a writer, I must respectfully disagree.

This blog, which I sub-titled The Epitome of Random is precisely that, RANDOM! There is no theme to follow, just totally random observations and commentary on whatever strikes my fancy. On the other hand, my wife has a specific theme and goal – to share and teach the beautiful Catholic faith to anyone who chooses to explore it. Such an effort takes time, it cannot be manufactured. My style is not my wife’s style. She needs to be true to her style, writing deeply from the heart and tapping into the wealth of her faith knowledge. This is what makes her blog so special, that she takes the time to do it right! It shows she cares, because those of us who are Catholic need to care. We need to take the time to learn, to educate ourselves and others.

That’s my writing advice to my wife. Take the necessary time to do your blog right! Because, after 17-plus years of marriage, I know you’re not one for quickies! (See what I mean about putting up with me?)

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

