Daughters and Sons

My wife and I have four daughters. We are also expecting our fifth child. No, I didn’t entitle this post Daughters and Sons because we have a boy on the way…we won’t know until the little sprout of my loins is born. We’re old-fashioned that way; we never find out the sex of our babies until they’re born.

But people keep saying something to the effect of, “So, are you hoping for a boy this time?” My answer is always no, I’m just praying for a healthy baby. Boy or girl, son or daughter doesn’t matter. I’m thrilled to be a daddy again.

Yet there are differences in sons and daughters. After having our third daughter I pretty much gave up on the prospect of having a son to carry on the family line. She, unlike her sisters, has been taught all those great things a father should teach his son. Like armpit farts! And silly songs about gas, roadkill, you name it.

We had a recent visit from their grandparents (my in-laws) and some of their cousins. We were out eating at Ruby Tuesday when she said excitedly, “Daddy, pull my finger!”

As a responsible father…I did! Together we did our John Daly impression – I gripped it, she ripped it! Yup, that’s my girl. I’m so proud.

Leave a Reply

